2015 Volunteer Recognition & Awards Ceremony


The Oakville Soccer Club was proud to host the 11th Annual Volunteer Recognition & Awards Ceremony at Le Dome Banquet Hall. This event is held annually to recognize the hard work and dedication of the 900+ volunteers who contribute their time and talents to the Club's programs each year.

After dinner the formal ceremony was opened by remarks from Executive Director Dave Harris and Board Member Randy Bianchin. During the ceremony, Ron Smale, President of the Ontario Soccer Association presented the Oakville Soccer Club with the OSA's Gold Club Excellence Award. Throughout the evening several attendees shared their experiences as OSC volunteers. "I saw coaching as this opportunity for me to give back, a way for me to extend to these young players the knowledge, skills, and values that my coaches had bestowed upon me when I was learning the game," said House League Coach Larkin Old.

In recognizing the Club's volunteers, Executive Director Dave Harris said "I am pleased to recognize the Oakville Soccer Club's outstanding volunteer base. The commitment to excellence shown in ensuring that our members receive the best soccer experience is second to none among sports organizations and we are proud to have such important members contributing so much to the Club".

Award recipients were as follows:

House League Coach of the Year Award 

This award is presented to U4 - U18 House League Coaches who are nominated by OSC's membership and demonstrate sportsmanship, skill development and a commitment to their team.

BU4 - Michael Sartor   GU4 - Rodrigo Novoa
BU5 - Sabrina McCaig   GU5 - Nicole Wirkowski & Ashley Starcevic
BU6 - Frank Haels   GU6 - Ryan Blue
BU7 - Mark Cummings   GU7 - Andy Tipping
BU8 - Brian Da Fonseca   GU8 - Andrew Singleton
BU9 - Steven Pontisso   GU9 - Vince Imerti
BU10 - Joe Overdevest   GU10 - Myron Crawford
BU11 - Kris Prostran   GU11 - D'Arcy McDonald
BU12 - David Coulter   GU12 - Jason Sonnbichler
BU13/14 - Katherine Johansson & Braydon Chow   GU13/14 - Michael Bielik
BU15/16 - Daniel Estrada   GU15/16 - Robert Gauntlett
BU17/18 - Caroline Yurchuk   GU17/18 - Victor Maciel

Rep Coach of the Year Award

This award is presented to a coach who has made an outstanding contribution to the development and success of an OSC Rep Team.

Male Team - John Bettio

Female Team - Graham Fletcher

Outstanding Youth Player Award

This award is presented to a player that has demonstrated dedication to the sport of soccer and an attitude that drives improvement, achievement and success.

Male Player - Matthew De Michele

Female Player - Sophia Boyd

Referee Awards

Presented to Referees who have achieved excellence in officiating.

Small Sided Game Referee Award - Aidan Baxter & Bennett Desmarais
Youth Entry Level Referee Award - Isabella Springett
Youth Referee Award - Paul Dalle Ave
Senior Referee Award - Boyan Ivanov

Young Volunteer of the Year Award

This award recognizes the contribution of a young adult to both the Oakville Soccer Club and the community.

Christopher Barbisan

Jay McNeill

Volunteer of the Year Award

Originally named Sportsperson of the Year in recognition of Jim Tonkin, this award which began in 1974 is presented to an individual who consistently demonstrates the outstanding qualities of a devoted, reliable and committed volunteer.

Sharon Davies, Rep Team Manager, GU21

President's Award

Presented annually in honour of Joe Hinnen - a long time volunteer with OSC - this award recognizes an untiring commitment by a volunteer to the Oakville Soccer Club

Claude Gauthier - Claude has a long history of involvement with the Oakville Soccer Club. Currently a member of the Board of Directors, Claude is also a long time House League coach and has sat on several committees including the Marketing Advisory and Human Resources committees, and is a long time advocate of House League programs.

The Oakville Soccer Club congratulates all award winners and thanks all of the Club's volunteers for this tireless efforts.
To see photos taken at the event on OSC's Facebook page, please click here