2018 OSC Scholarship Awards

The Oakville Soccer Club held their 9th Annual Scholarship Awards Ceremony at the Glen Abbey Golf Course on August 16th. During this luncheon, eight outstanding young ladies and gentlemen were selected to receive scholarships based on their contributions to the Club, as well as academic achievements and service to the community of Oakville.
The Oakville Soccer Club prides itself on being able to provide dedicated players and community members with assistance in their pursuit of post-secondary education. Through this program, OSC provides $12,000 in scholarships annually to help ensure players achieve their educational goals. Through OSC's Scholarship program, over $90,000 has been awarded to worthy recipients since the programs’ inception nine years ago.
OSC was proud to welcome Mayor Rob Burton and Oakville MPP Stephen Crawford to the awards presentation, both of whom brought greetings and presented the scholarship recipients with certificates. Certificates were also provided by MP John Oliver and MP Pam Damoff, both of whom were unable to attend.
“The Oakville Soccer Club is extremely proud of this year’s scholarship winners. The significant accomplishments of these young men and women not only in athletics but also within the community and academically make them all very worthy recipients,” said Dave Harris, OSC’s Executive Director. “OSC is very pleased to assist our recipients with their education as they enter post-secondary institutions in the fall.”
OSC scholarship recipients and their post-secondary institutions including areas of study are as follows:
Matthew Diong - Queen's University - Commerce
Caitlin Dougall - Western University - Bachelor of Management and Organizational Studies
Katy Haworth - Sheridan College - Early Childhood Education
Amy Kress - University of Waterloo - Honours Kinesiology
Robert O'Halloran - Brock University - Honours Bachelor of Science Kinesiology
Robert Policelli - Western University - Medical Science
Matthew Potter - Western University - Business Management & Organizational Studies
Julia Semple - Western University - Economics
2018 OSC Scholarship Awards Photo
Left to right: Dave Harris, Stephen Crawford, Marc Tremblay, Caitlin Dougall, Amy Kress, Robert Policelli, Katy Haworth, Matthew Potter, Julia Semple, Robert O'Halloran, Matthew Diong, Mayor Rob Burton, Rachna Singhal
Congratulations and all the best to the 2018 OSC Scholarship Recipients!
Media Contact:
Katryna Indewey
Director of Marketing & Communications
T 905-849-4436 x 4435
About OSC: The Oakville Soccer Club, founded in 1972, is the largest amateur soccer club in Canada, with over 12,000 members coached by over 900 volunteer and professional coaches. OSC is based at its 100,000 square foot indoor soccer facility on Pine Glen Road in North Oakville. The Oakville Soccer Club carries the Gold Standard Award for Club Excellence from Ontario Soccer. OSC’s tradition of excellence includes eight national championships, 55 Ontario Cup winners and a large number of players selected to represent Canada both at national and international levels. OSC is committed to providing a positive soccer experience to all Club members through technical training, encouragement and opportunities for players to advance their soccer and life skills.